Reviews

Gentilissimi! - Rating 5/5

Small rooms, typical English and spotless. 2 minutes walk from the center overlooking the park of Regent Street. Breakfast a bit sparse but able to satisfy sweet and savory palates. Staff really very kind and nice.

Reviewer:4 | Sun 8th Sep 2019 | 1 week ago


Excellent hotel - Rating 5/5

We stayed at this hotel last week and found it to be a great stay. Great location into Cambridge, clean and tastefully done. The cold breakfast was lovely with fresh strawberries and lovely coffee. The room had everything you could need and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful and went above and beyond as far as I’m concerned.

Reviewer:F | Fri 6th Sep 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Super Hotel, perfect location. - Rating 5/5

The hotel is clean, comfy and in the perfect location for exploring Cambridge. It backs on to a lovely park great for picnics and sunbathing. It is on a street with many lovely bars and restaurants. It is a short walk to the centre of Cambridge everything is easily accessible. The staff are friendly and make your stay a special one.

Reviewer:J | Sun 1st Sep 2019 | 2 weeks ago


Good base to explore Cambridge - Rating 4/5

Nice hotel located within walking distance of the historic center of Cambridge. Elevator present. Clean, spacious room with nice bed, TV, air conditioning and fridge. Also private bathroom with tub-shower combination. Our room was situated on the street side, but no noise from traffic due to double glazing. Excellent breakfast with enough choice;coffee / tea, fruit juices, various types of cheese, meat, yogurt, fruit and baguette. Preparation of toast on request. Friendly and helpful staff. No private parking, but public parking garage within walking distance. It is advisable to first deliver the suitcases to the hotel before parking the car in the garage. Free WiFi coverage good throughout the hotel. All in all a must to stay to explore Cambridge!

Reviewer:B | Tue 13th Aug 2019 | 1 month ago


What a gem! - Rating 5/5

Just returned from a two night stay at The Regent, what a fabulous hotel. It is really well situated, just a short stroll to all the colleges, bars and restaurants in central Cambridge. The staff, both front of house and at breakfast were very professional, helpful and welcoming. We had an executive room on the third floor which was lovely. It was a good size with a very comfy bed, very clean and was well lit. The air con was good and the small balcony with chairs was a nice extra. It also had plenty of electrical sockets, always a bonus. Tea and coffee making facilities were in the room with fresh milk and bottled water in the fridge.The bathroom was also a good size,had beautiful fluffy white towels and a good range of toiletries. Would perhaps have preferred a shower screen rather than the curtain which did tend to wrap around as one showered. Just a small detail though in an otherwise great stay. Breakfast was in a lovely bright room and although only a cold buffet was more than adequate with great juice and coffee. Would definitely recommend to anyone planning a visit to Cambridge.

Reviewer:T | Mon 8th Jul 2019 | 2 months ago


An incredibly nice little hotel right in the centre - Rating 5/5

A good hotel, in a good location and with fantastic staff. Perfect service and friendly service from arrival to departure. The building has an old-fashioned charm but the rooms are modern with air conditioning and everything you need. A lovely breakfast room / bar overlooking a park that crowds of activity means that you never have to have boring there. A decent breakfast with everything you need and attentive personal service. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Cambridge city centre and it is full of restaurants of all varieties right nearby.

Reviewer:s | Wed 3rd Jul 2019 | 2 months ago


Very pleasing independent hotel - Rating 5/5

I stayed at the Regent for one night on a business trip to central Cambridge. The room and bathroom were spacious, clean, well lit and equipped with all of the usual comforts;it was warm given the cool weather but the air conditioning was effective. A nice touch was the fridge with a bottle of chilled tap water and one of fresh milk. The continental breakfast was a good example of its kind and the coffee excellent. Friendly staff, reasonably priced and well located for much of central Cambridge. I would stay there again whether on business or leisure.

Reviewer:Ten Year Old T | Wed 19th Jun 2019 | 3 months ago


First visit to Cambridge. - Rating 4/5

Having never visited Cambridge before, my wife and I decided to spend 3 nights at the Regent Hotel. Not having been to Cambridge before we researched a lot of Hotels in the area and decided the Regent was the most central for our needs. the room was clean and overlooked a park which was always busy with lots of people going about their business. The only downside to the room was shortage of power points for chargers etc

Reviewer:Howard S | Thu 6th Jun 2019 | 3 months ago


Very enjoyable - Rating 4/5

Had a lovely night here and would Thoroughly Recommend and would definitely stay here again , the lobby service was very good the room was lovely and the a/c worked a treat as the rooms were warm , view out to the park was nice , bed was really comfortable , towels were good quality, 5 stars would have been a cooked breakfast as staying away should be treat and cold breakfast does not quite cut it and the shower head for my wife was a little high , so small things for sure , stay here you won’t be disappointed, well donePaul & Ruth

Reviewer:P | Tue 4th Jun 2019 | 3 months ago


Lovely hotel - Rating 4/5

Recently stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. Beautiful executive room at the back overlooking the park. It was a little noisy in the evenings with crowds of young people gathering in the park outside, but not really a problem. The staff were brilliant and extremely professional. Cold continental breakfast was more than adequate - great choice including meat, cheese, yoghurts, cereals, fruit and juices, pastries, etc as well as toast, jams & marmalades, and choice of teas and coffees. Only downsides - no hotel car park, so had to park in public car park about 10 mins walk away. Also bathroom had a shower curtain, which seemed to wrap itself around you - very annoying. Also the way the bathroom is designed with a fixed shower screen at the end of the bath and the toilet right next to the other end of the bath makes getting in and out of the bath quite tricky, as there’s very little room. These niggles apart - lovely hotel and would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:h | Sat 1st Jun 2019 | 3 months ago


Great location and clean room - Rating 4/5

The Regent hotel is a great place to stay if you want to be at the heart of Cambridge. I booked a basic room. The positives were that it was super clean, had greatly air-conditioned and was really well noise isolated from the outside. Unfortunately, the noise inside the hotel was not equally isolated. Until 11.30 it was possible to hear either someone talking or watching television and from around 6.30 I was woken up by people sounding like they were throwing their bags down the central stairway. All in all, that was somewhat to noisy for me. However, I might just have been really unlucky with the location of my room.Breakfast, as highlighted, is cold and nothing to write home about. After having inspected the cold buffet, I decided to skip it. However, since they clearly advertise with this, I did not let I calculate into my overall grade.Overall, nice and very clean rooms. A bit too noisy, and at the price I would have liked to see a more inspired breakfast.

Reviewer:M | Wed 22nd May 2019 | 4 months ago


cozy and beautiful - Rating 5/5

this is extreme nice hotel sitting in the center of Cambridge, so convenient to walk around the city from the hotel. its back is a huge park, very nice to walk over its lawn.the staff is very nice and accommodating. beautiful people matching the beautiful city.will come back for sure.

Reviewer:n | Wed 22nd May 2019 | 4 months ago


Still excellent! - Rating 5/5

Fourth visit - one per year over last five years and this remains a fantastic hotel. Stopped in third floor room with small balcony over Parker’s Piece.The staff are really friendly and helpful and provided some great vegan options for the breakfast buffet as I had let them know in advance of my preferences.Location is really central with all the city sights within easy walking distance. Will definitely be back!

Reviewer:m | Sun 19th May 2019 | 4 months ago


A real gem! - Rating 5/5

I stayed at the Regent for three nights recently while attending a symposium at Cambridge University. I can't say enough about this hotel:charming, well appointed, great location, friendly staff, nice breakfast, quiet room, clean and spacious bathroom, nice small bar, good in room WIFI. One of the best small hotels I have stayed at in all my travels. A+.

Reviewer:s | Tue 14th May 2019 | 4 months ago


Beautiful hotel - Rating 5/5

Beautiful lovely hotel in the the heart of Cambridge. The rooms are clean, comfortable, classy , value for money and we just lovely the little touches that they have added in the rooms. The staff were very friendly and professional . My husband and I would like to thank the hotel for their special gift on our anniversary and we would highly recommend the hotel and we will definitely be back. Thank you

Reviewer:J | Sun 12th May 2019 | 4 months ago


What a gem! - Rating 5/5

The Regent is a really pleasant surprise. Its location is great and we were surprised at the huge and beautifully decorated and appointed room. We had an executive room at the back with great views over Parker’s Piece which was quiet and had no road noise at all. There are more ‘extras’ and facilities at the Regent than in a lot of 5* hotels:robes and slippers, coffee machine as well as the usual kettle etc, really nice quality toiletries, bottled water (and, joy of joys, fresh milk for your tea!) - even an old -school trouser press. The hotel has obviously been recently refurbished and is stylishly decorated. The staff are pleasant and helpful. Amazingly for Cambridge, the room rates include a very good continental breakfast which was another surprise - a great choice of food including freshly-made hot toast. All-in-all, a great place and superb value.

Reviewer:J | Fri 10th May 2019 | 4 months ago


Perfect spot - Rating 5/5

We stayed one night at the Regent Hotel on Sunday. Unfortunately we were unable to do the sightseeing we had hoped, but had a good stay nevertheless. The hotel room was very well appointed with a little balcony overlooking the park. The shower and en-suite were a good size, although fighting with a shower curtain which insists on wrapping itself around one's legs is not something we particularly enjoy! The staff were friendly and helpful - down to sending a phone charger back by post at no cost to ourselves, which is above and beyond I think. If only they could get shower screens instead of those curtains we'd certainly be back next time we are lucky enough to visit Cambridge!

Reviewer:L | Thu 2nd May 2019 | 4 months ago


Reunion - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay in Cambridge - Central walking distance of nearly all shops all restaurants colleges . Room small but perfect for your stay. Staff very helpful. Parking can be a problem but its very central. Would definitely stay again

Reviewer:m | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 4 months ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

I stayed with a friend, she is a local and I was visiting from New Zealand.It was a lovely stay. We had a large room on the 3rd floor, with a great bathroom and a small balcony, it was very clean and nice.The staff at the reception desk were lovely and the location was great, it was an easy walk to everything!

Reviewer:m | Tue 23rd Apr 2019 | 5 months ago


lovely place but needs parking - Rating 4/5

we booked the most basic room which was smaller than we are used to but still more than adequate. Good aircon and effective soundproofing on the double glazing (and it was needed). The room had a minibar with "perfectly drinkable tap water" and some organic milk for the tea/coffee. Very pleasant staff throughout the hotel - even though advice about parking out front was not fully accurate.Parking is a problem. There are a few bays in front of the hotel at 60p per 10 minutes. A Private multi-storey is very close by and I am told that evenings and sundays one can park on single yellow lines at the back of the hotel. This does not apply to the front of the hotel.Breakfast is nice but simple and the end of the restaurant area is home to the small bar.There is a small lift and steps going to the front door so I am unsure about disabled access.Location is good - close to the city centre on a road with a wide variety of places to eat and close to a large open spaced park.Good free wifi but no safe.

Reviewer:jim m | Mon 15th Apr 2019 | 5 months ago


Excellent location and service - Rating 5/5

booked the Regent Hotel for an overnight stay this month as my daughter and I were visiting one of my Nephews who is studying in Cambridge. It's an easy 15 minute walk from the Train Station and located on the main road in Cambridge. The staff were very organised and friendly. The Hotel is absolutely spotless and very well cared for. The rooms are smallish but very comfortable and the bathrooms work well. Breakfast was provided in our rate and it was great - continental but again Service was excellent. There a great lounge area where you can catch up on reading the daily papers. We were able to leave our luggage at the hotel whilst we explored. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Cambridge.

Reviewer:M | Tue 9th Apr 2019 | 5 months ago


Perfect for our trip! Lovely hotel and staff! - Rating 5/5

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights and had a great time. The hotel is perfectly located for shops, restaurants, cinema and the Corn Exchange. Our room had 2 windows with a beautiful view of the park. The staff were all lovely and very helpful. Spotlessly clean and the luxury of breakfast in bed with no extra charge. Perfect!

Reviewer:G | Mon 11th Mar 2019 | 6 months ago


5* service for our anniversary - Rating 5/5

I booked this hotel for a 1 night stay for our anniversary, firstly we arrived 3 hours before are check in time and they said the room was ready and allowed us straight up, we was staying in the executive suite and on arrival to the room there was a rose on the bed a box of chocolates and a card from the hotel which was a very nice touch! The hotel is in a great location and your in the old town within a 5-10 minute walk, on leaving the hotel I did forget my charger, and within a couple of hours of leaving the hotel had emailed me to say I had left it and they are happy to send it to my home address ( they covered the fees)Overall I was impressed with the whole process and service from calling up and booking the hotel with Tom, to checking in with Liz and the aftercare when I left my charger with Csilla, they are a great team and I never do post on here, but I felt after all the great service they really do Deserve the recognition for it so thank you for making our stay in Cambridge a great one !I recommend this hotel highly!

Reviewer:H | Thu 7th Mar 2019 | 6 months ago


Loved this very central hotel! - Rating 5/5

I had a lovely one night stay with my grown daughter. Very clean room and facilities in a friendly environment. The staff were polite and accommodating -- leaving luggage, calling cab...We enjoyed that the hotel is intimate and personal and central yet our room looking over the street was perfectly quiet all night. Only thing to mention is that we turned the heat down as far as possible, yet room still too hot compared to what we are used to. Breakfast and breakfast room perfect!

Reviewer:S | Wed 6th Mar 2019 | 6 months ago


Excellent location and service - Rating 5/5

I booked the Regent Hotel for an overnight stay this month as my daughter and I were visiting one of my Nephews who is studying in Cambridge. It's an easy 15 minute walk from the Train Station and located on the main road in Cambridge. The staff were very organised and friendly. The Hotel is absolutely spotless and very well cared for. The rooms are smallish but very comfortable and the bathrooms work well. Breakfast was provided in our rate and it was great - continental but again Service was excellent. There a great lounge area where you can catch up on reading the daily papers. We were able to leave our luggage at the hotel whilst we explored. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Cambridge.

Reviewer:M | Tue 29th Jan 2019 | 7 months ago


Great hotel! - Rating 5/5

Very nice hotel and helpful staff. Very clean, neat and efficiently laid out room. Real milk and soya milk (just had to ask for soya) in the room. Towelling robes, slippers and nice toiletries. Continental breakfast was quite an amazing selection with good selection of gluten free. Well thought out, efficient and comfortable. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Reviewer:S | Thu 10th Jan 2019 | 8 months ago


4.8
Very Good

26 reviews

5
77%
4
23%
3
0%
2
0%
1
0%